Retirement

Dr. Al Dutrow, Associate Professor of Agriculture, McPherson College is retiring. He has been a member of NACTA since 1975 and active in the Kansas chapter (KACTA), including a two-year term as president. In an email to the NACTA Secretary he says: "Over the years, I have received much inspiration from the members of NACTA and KACTA through annual conferences, the NACTA Journal, and personal contacts."

NACTA Election Results

As expected given the highly qualified candidates for all the open positions, the NACTA election results were very close for the two contested positions (single digit differences).

Congratulations to the following: Mike Mullen, President-elect; Bonnie Walters, Central Region Director-elect; and Kent Mullinix., Canadian Region Director -elect.

Thanks and commendation to all the candidates for their commitment and service to NACTA and their willingness to participate in the election process. Terms of office for the newly elected officials begin at the conclusion of the business meeting at the annual conference in June.

Allen Zimmerman, Past President and Chair, Nominating Committee

2008 NACTA Judging Conference Report

Tarleton State University (TSU), Stephenville, TX served as the host for the 2008 NACTA Judging Conference April 16 through 18, 2008. Participants in the judging conference included eighteen two-year institutions and sixteen four-year universities. The states represented were California, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Oklahoma, Minnesota, Nebraska, New Mexico, Indiana, South Dakota, Texas, and Wisconsin.



A minimum of fifteen Tarleton State University faculty, staff members, numerous TSU students and outside personnel were involved in conducting twenty contest areas (ten different two year and ten four year contests). Contest areas included Ag Knowledge Bowl, Agriculture Computers, Crops, Dairy Judging, Horse Judging, Horticulture, Livestock Judging, Meats Judging, Poultry, and Soils Evaluation. At the completion of the competition, TSU hosted an Awards Banquet for contestants and coaches. The following Sweepstakes Awards were presented:

• First Place 2 Year Division – Coffeyville Community College,

• Second Place 2 Year Division – Hutchinson Community College,

• First Place 4 Year Division – University of Minnesota, Crookston,

• Second Place 4 Year Division – Iowa State University,

• Overall Sweepstakes – University of Minnesota, Crookston.

Dr. Lyle Westrom (University of Minnesota – Crookston), President of the NACTA Judging Conference and Dr. Ed Brokaw (Abilene Christian University), Secretary, presented Tarleton State University with Citation of Appreciation for hosting the conference. Dr. Ted Ford (Contest Coordinator), the agriculture faculty, staff, administration, students, and resource individuals from other higher educational institutions and industry personnel are to be commended for providing a quality educational experience for students from 13 states.

Representatives from Ohio State University ATI (OSU-ATI) invited institutional members of NACTA to attend the 2009 Judging Conference to be held in Wooster, OH, April 16-18. OSU-ATI will be hosting eleven different contest areas. The web sight for the information and contest rules for the 2009 Conference are now available at www.ati.osu. edu/nacta.

Leland Walker, Eastern Oklahoma State College NACTA Judging Contest Liaison